Addison Historical Museum
Physical Address: 135 W. Army Trail Boulevard
(Mailing Address: 1 Friendship Plaza, Addison, Il 60101)
MUSEUM IS REOPENING WED. APRIL 21, 2021
TOURS AVAILABLE WED. & FRI. AFTERNOONS BY ADVANCED APPOINTMENT ONLY. CALL 630-628-1433 FOR MORE INFORMATION.
The Addison Historical Museum is housed in the historic 1892 Balzer House, which was originally located on East Lake Street. It was the home of William Balzer, his wife Marie Heidemann and their family. The Village purchased the
property, and the house was moved to this location in 1999.
The museum contains artifact and photo displays about local
history. Please call 630- 628-1433 or email the museum at
firstname.lastname@example.org for more information.
129 W. Army Trail Boulevard
Built in 1893 as a teachers' home for the Lutheran School, this house was purchased by the Village of Addison in 1993 and hence, got its name. The Addison Historical Society researched and restored the home to the late 19th to early 20th Century period through the generous donations of the Addison community. Visitors to the museum can experience first hand what it was like living in Addison at this time.
135 W. Army Trail Boulevard
(Location: Behind Addison Historical Museum)
The Coach House was built by William Balzer in 1932 using lumber from his former tombstone shop and originally stood behind the Balzer House on East Lake Street. Balzer used the building for his Addison Township Clerk office, vehicle storage, and carpentry shop. It was moved to this location in 1999 along with the museum. The first floor contains a recreation of Balzer's clerk office, a diorama of the Addison State Bank, models of early Addison and exhibits on Addison's agricultural heritage. The second floor area includes displays of antique household items and equipment.